Blowing Out The Dust Within

The Backell family suffered a tragic, yet completely preventable loss this last week…

a very dusty computer

a very dusty computer

Our living room media server died. It was a slow, lingering, complication-filled battle that led to its demise.
Why am I bringing this up here? Because when I opened up the computer box, I discovered that it was full of dust. Such a simple, small thing… but left unchecked, it choked the life out of our computer. The fix would have been simple – take the computer outside, blow it clean with fresh air, and make sure that all its parts are well-connected.

Are you seeing the correlation between my media server and our spiritual lives yet?

All too often, we let little things, small things, pile up. We think, “oh, that’s not that important, I’ll deal with that later”… and then, before we know it, we’re getting clogged with the little things and we’re unable to breathe.

Please note – I don’t have anyone specifically in mind, but the warning is sound: if we allow little things, small sins, to accumulate in our lives, they cause more and more complications. Those little things can grow to have devastating consequences.

I was reading the Desiring God blog, when I came across this quote:

“We sin because we forget God’s steadfast love and abundant mercy. When we are not ravished by him, we forget the superior pleasures that there are in God and give ourselves to the inferior pleasures of sin. And this is why David says, “Against you God, you only have I sinned.” He goes deep with his confession because he knows repentance is the way back to fellowship with God.” (Rick Gamache, from his sermon “Whiter Than Snow”)

As we wrap up the summer of 2014, please take the time to deal with the simple things, the small things that might be accumulating in your heart. Bring them to God and ask the Spirit to blow fresh air through your life so that you’re renewed and ready for however the Lord calls you.

Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. ~ Psalm 51:10-12

Keep Following Jesus,

Pastor Ed

0 Responses to “Blowing Out The Dust Within”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pastor Ed Backell

Flickr Photos

Pastoral Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 775 other followers


