Trust Before Experience

Trust Before Experience Sermon Audio Here


Ecclesiastes 11:1-10

There is no situation I can get into that God cannot get me out. Some years ago when I was learning to fly, my instructor told me to put the plane into a steep and extended dive. I was totally unprepared for what was about to happen. After a brief time the engine stalled, and the plane began to plunge out-of-control. It soon became evident that the instructor was not going to help me at all. After a few seconds, which seemed like eternity, my mind began to function again. I quickly corrected the situation.

Immediately I turned to the instructor and began to vent my fearful frustrations on him. He very calmly said to me, “There is no position you can get this airplane into that I cannot get you out of. If you want to learn to fly, go up there and do it again.” At that moment God seemed to be saying to me, “Remember this. As you serve Me, there is no situation you can get yourself into that I cannot get you out of. If you trust me, you will be all right.” That lesson has been proven true in my ministry many times over the years. (James Brown, Evangeline Baptist Church, Wildsville, LA, in Discoveries, Fall, 1991, Vol. 2, No. 4.)

How Do We Put Trust Into Practice?

Engage the Activities of Life
(With Ability) ~ Ecc. 11:1-6

  • v1 cast bread – double meaning: 1) sowing seed unexpected return 2) care for poor w/o regard for repayment
  • v2/4 we don’t know outcome; we can’t use it to decide
  • v5/6 engage various ventures; only God knows outcome

Enjoy the Choices of Life
(With Responsibility) ~ Ecc. 11:7-10

  • v7/8 enjoy life, whether sunny days or dark
  • v9 whatever your choices, realize their eternal worth
  • v10 set aside worry, and live well as you can (meaning isn’t found in being young or old)

Share the Blessings of Life
(with others) ~ 2 Cor. 9:6-11

  • v6/7 willingness is key
  • v8 you are surrounded with grace So That you bless others
  • v9 callback to Ecc. 11:1 “cast bread”
  • v10 NOT give to get, but give to give more
  • v11 We Are The Means God Uses To Teach World re: Grace

Psalm 34:6 – taste & see the Lord is good! We have to be willing to step out in faith and trust first SO THAT we learn how Good God can be.

0 Responses to “Trust Before Experience”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pastor Ed Backell

Flickr Photos

Pastoral Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 775 other followers


