My Life As A Minion

I saw a photograph today that just about gave me a fit of asthma from laughing so hard. I wouldn’t want to deprive you of the opportunity to have difficulty breathing, so here’s the photo:

Image

For those of you who might not know, the top picture is of a “minion” from the Despicable Me movies. Very cute, not terribly smart, and completely devoted servants of their master. It occurs to me that that’s not a bad description of what I aspire to be: a completely devoted servant of Jesus. (I can only *hope* for the very cute part, and I’m rather afraid of the not terribly smart bit.)

However, I have to admit that there are lots of days when I’m trying my best to be a minion of whom the Master can be proud… and I end up feeling like the bottom picture. Even though those are frustrating days, I try not to worry: God doesn’t see me based on my performance; He sees me based on Jesus’ faithfulness… and that never lets me down, no matter how I might feel on any given day.

 

0 Responses to “My Life As A Minion”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pastor Ed Backell

Flickr Photos

Pastoral Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 775 other followers


