Blocking My Own Blessings

a big rock in the road
On Sunday mornings, the adult class that I teach has been working through Steps to Christian Maturity, by Bill Bright. The founder of Campus Crusade, Dr. Bright was pretty influential in my life through his evangelism training materials that I learned to use as a new believer.
A few weeks ago, we were working through God’s Promises and Provisions through Prayer. One of the verses about God’s provision really struck me, and caused me to re-think my views on God’s blessing.
Here it is, Ephesians 1:3 –
“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ.”

I’m sure I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve read this verse, but this time it hit me: the PAST TENSE. Look carefully – God HAS BLESSED US. This is not a promise that God *will* bless us if we follow hard after Him, or that God *might* bless us based on some other condition. This is a DONE DEAL. God HAS blessed us!
This made me think – hard – about what God has already done in us, and what we are doing about it. Do you feel as if you’ve received every spiritual blessing already? I know I sure don’t! And what THAT brings to mind is the question:
If I’ve already been given every spiritual blessing in Christ… what is getting in the way of me actually laying hold of that blessing? How am I blocking my own growth in my spiritual walk?
When I put it that way, I’m convicted. I know very well what things I’m holding on to instead of letting go, and letting God’s blessings actually get through to me.
As we enter this new year of 2014, let’s ask ourselves… and each other: what is holding us back from living the Kingdom life to which God is calling us? What are we clinging to that needs to be released?
I am looking forward to discovering this year just how God is going to move among us. It should be quite an adventure!
Keep Following Jesus – Ed

4 Responses to “Blocking My Own Blessings”


  1. 1 Anonymous January 14, 2014 at 6:08 am

    I’ve always thought that we were blessed at the time of our acceptance of The Lord and receipt of his Spirit ~ then the condition of our relationship with God determines our worthiness to possess those blessings. (1st John 5:14 …if we know that he hears us… we know that we have the requests) (Mark 11:24…whatever you pray and ask for, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.)

  2. 2 Anonymous January 14, 2014 at 6:10 am

    hey, I’m not anonymous ~ I’m Paul Clark

  3. 3 pastoredb January 14, 2014 at 7:17 am

    Paul, we do not receive the blessings of God if we are worthy. We can never be worthy enough compared to God’s standard of infinite righteousness and holiness.

    Rather, we receive the blessings of God because HE IS WORTHY. It is about His righteousness, His holiness, and His choice to share those blessings with us for His glory, not our own.

    Good to hear from you, brother!

  4. 4 Anonymous January 16, 2014 at 5:06 am

    That’s not what I’m saying. We receive ” every spiritual blessing in Christ.” when we are “in Christ” or (in receipt of his Spirit by his grace). There is a difference between receiving them and possessing them ~ or as you say, “laying hold of them”, which is where our walk comes into the picture ~ ESV© Mat 6:33 “But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.” It’s the added part we are both talking about,no?


Leave a Reply

Pastor Ed Backell

Flickr Photos

Pastoral Tweets

  • God works with us IN SPITE of our attitudes in the flesh; but He’d rather we COOPERATE with the Spirit as we move through life. 6 days ago
  • Learning What God Already Knows: We Are Stable When We Stay In The Spirit (Romans 8:9-11) 6 days ago
  • Learning What God Already Knows: We Are Short Sighted By Sinful Nature (Genesis 25:29-34) 6 days ago
  • Gems from Genesis: God Knows Our Attitudes pastoredb.wordpress.com/2017/07/11/gem… https://t.co/aao1TUSV4k 1 week ago
  • Rom.7:22-25~Our flesh wants its own way; we’re stuck in sin. God knows we want to be better than we are, and there's a way: Christ our Lord! 1 week ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 774 other followers


