“Scheduled” spirituality?

liturgical calendar Recently, I was sharing with someone about spiritual growth, and they had expressed frustration that they weren’t as connected to God as they felt the should be. I encouraged them to look up Romans 12:1-2. Let me share it here:

“I urge you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, [which is] your spiritual service of worship. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.” {NASB}
This brought to mind an interesting conversation with the Wednesday night study group this last week. One comment that particularly stands out in my mind is something like, “You know, as I make my to-do list for the day, I don’t put down spiritual goals on that list. I don’t mark down how many people I’m going to share Christ with…”
That really grabbed my attention! I wonder how many of us *plan* to incorporate specific spiritual activities into our lives? I know, for example, that I have a general weekly schedule; I know when I’ll be spending extra time in study, I know when I plan to write my sermon and prepare for my Sunday School lesson… but how often do I make room for the movement of the Holy Spirit in my everyday life?
It’s certainly given me pause for reflection: I ask that God would use me whenever the Lord saw fit… but are there opportunities that I’m missing because I’m preoccupied with just living my life? Are you?

0 Responses to ““Scheduled” spirituality?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pastor Ed Backell

Flickr Photos

teepeeindiangirls1

x-default

rachelthrone

More Photos

Pastoral Tweets

  • 1 Pet. 3:20-21~ Remember Reasons To Hope: 7) God Prepares Ways To Rescue His People; 8) God Rescues From Being Overwhelmed 1 day ago
  • 1 Pet. 3:22~ Remember Reason To Hope: 9) Jesus In The Perfect Position To Save: AT THE TOP; over Angels, Authorities, Powers, AND Problems! 1 day ago
  • 1 Pet. 3:17-19~ Remember Reasons To Hope: 4) God Values Your Life; 5) Jesus Already Paid For Your Sin; 6) Stuck? Jesus Can Free You 1 day ago
  • 1 Pet. 3:13-16~ Remember Reasons To Hope: 1) You Are Not Alone When You Suffer; 2) Your Hope Is Reasonable; 3) Your Hope Doesn’t Need Power 1 day ago
  • Posts from 1 Peter: Reasons for Hope pastoredb.wordpress.com/2017/05/21/pos… 1 day ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 753 other followers


