My 12 Days

During our celebration of Christmas, I wrote a personal view of the 12 Days of Christmas. I suppose you could say that I was listening to my own sermons and trying to do the work of introspection during this holiday time. I posted each day’s thought to Facebook, and received rather a lot of encouraging comments from friends who were reading along, so I thought I’d post them here. To save space, I’ll just post the entry for Day 12, and I’m sure you’ll be able to work backwards from there.

On the Twelfth Day of Christmas, the Savior gave to me:
• vision for the future,
• insight to my background,
• peace amidst my sorrow,
• hope for tomorrow,
• the Word so I can hear it,
• power from the Spirit,
• a call to serve God’s people,
• good friends and blessings,
• family to shape me,
• three precious children,
• a spouse who really loves me,
• and a new life to show the world I’m free.

And now, we’re approaching our Annual Meeting at the end of the month for Warden Community Church. I’m sure that we’ll also use that time to be somewhat introspective, hearing reports of what we, as a church family, have done in God’s Kingdom during 2010.

But as much as I’ve been encouraging us to stop and look at the work of the Savior in our lives during Advent and Christmas, I also want to point to the future. The Lord has many more adventures in store for us in 2011, and I’m sure looking forward to finding what our role in the Kingdom is going to be.

For now, one thing I can do is hold fast to the words of St. Paul, as he also focused on what the Lord would do through him. He wrote in his letter to the saints at Philippi: “[faithful family members], I do not consider that I have made [completeness in Christ] my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

Let’s do the same this year!

Keep Following Jesus – Ed

0 Responses to “My 12 Days”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pastor Ed Backell

Flickr Photos

teepeeindiangirls1

x-default

rachelthrone

More Photos

Pastoral Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 753 other followers


