A New Chapter Begins…

Dear Church Family,

It is with mixed emotions that I submit my resignation as your Director of Youth and Children’s Ministries. God has led me to an opportunity to serve as the Senior Pastor of Warden Community Church in Warden, Washington. My last Sunday with you all will be the last Sunday in April, and my last day in the church office will be April 30. I will be ordained on the 15th of May at the Warden church, and begin my ministry there on May 16th.

Words are hard to come by to fully describe the joy, pleasure and blessing that serving with this wonderful church family has been for me and my family. It has been an incredible joy to help lead the Youth and Children’s Ministries here at First Presbyterian Church of Snohomish. I will truly miss the children, the teens and their families as I leave behind the challenges and joys of being a youth pastor and move into new challenges as a senior pastor.

First Presbyterian Church has been an incredible blessing to me and my family. God has used this church in our lives, and I feel especially encouraged after hearing so many of your comments to me personally whenever I preach.

I can’t begin to thank Pastors Ann and Charlie enough for their collegial spirit, leadership, love and guidance over the last four years. First Presbyterian Church is truly blessed to have them as Pastors – I pray that you will never take them for granted and will continue to lift up them both in prayer daily. In addition to our pastors, Snohomish is blessed with a wonderful group of servants who serve in so many capacities. It has been my pleasure to serve with them, to be challenged by them and to rejoice with them.

I simply cannot say “thank you” enough to you all for your love, prayers, support, encouragement and willingness to follow where God led us over the last four years. I have no doubt that God will continue to do incredible things in the lives of our children and youth. I look forward to hearing of how these students will continue to live as grace-filled people as a part of the Body of Christ.

We will continue to pray for our Snohomish church family and ask that you continue to pray for us as we all seek to honor the Lord with our lives.

In His Service,
Ed Backell

(This was the resignation letter I have just submitted to the church in Snohomish. Special thanks to Jeff Wells, whose resignation letter served as a template when I could not find the words.)
0 Responses to “A New Chapter Begins…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pastor Ed Backell

Flickr Photos

teepeeindiangirls1

x-default

rachelthrone

More Photos

Pastoral Tweets

  • 1 Pet. 3:20-21~ Remember Reasons To Hope: 7) God Prepares Ways To Rescue His People; 8) God Rescues From Being Overwhelmed 3 days ago
  • 1 Pet. 3:22~ Remember Reason To Hope: 9) Jesus In The Perfect Position To Save: AT THE TOP; over Angels, Authorities, Powers, AND Problems! 3 days ago
  • 1 Pet. 3:17-19~ Remember Reasons To Hope: 4) God Values Your Life; 5) Jesus Already Paid For Your Sin; 6) Stuck? Jesus Can Free You 3 days ago
  • 1 Pet. 3:13-16~ Remember Reasons To Hope: 1) You Are Not Alone When You Suffer; 2) Your Hope Is Reasonable; 3) Your Hope Doesn’t Need Power 3 days ago
  • Posts from 1 Peter: Reasons for Hope pastoredb.wordpress.com/2017/05/21/pos… 3 days ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 753 other followers


