St. Patrick’s Day thought

As I write this, it’s St. Patrick’s Day. Granted, I understand that in America, everyone is “Irish” on St. Patty’s Day; however, I actually *do* have Irish background. I’m also a history buff, and I’m a Protestant, so I am wearing a brightly colored tie with both green and orange with a white shirt. (I figure that I’ve got all my bases covered now…)

Anyway, I was doing some reading, and I came across this blog, which had a very interesting entry about social justice and the work of the church.

Ten Marks of the Church as Abbey

It’s a wonderful post about how a church can envision its outreach to the surrounding culture by understanding the functions of the Celtic Abbey. I’d especially like to draw your attention to point number 9, about justice:

Peace and justice. St. Patrick was the first person in recorded history to speak out against the Irish slave trade.  Patrick’s appeals eventually resulted in the end of the Irish slave trade, of which Patrick himself had been a victim.  Patrick also prevailed upon the Irish kings and warlords to live in peace with one another, as much as they were able.  The abbey bears that same responsibility today.

The serendipity of it all makes me smile: here I am, on St. Patrick’s Day, reading about the work of the church as modeled by St. Patrick. And me being an Orange-wearing Protestant.

As they say in the Guinness commercials… “Brilliant!”

  1. Peace and justice. St. Patrick was the first person in recorded history to speak out against the Irish slave trade.  Patrick’s appeals eventually resulted in the end of the Irish slave trade, of which Patrick himself had been a victim.  Patrick also prevailed upon the Irish kings and warlords to live in peace with one another, as much as they were able.  The abbey bears that same responsibility today.
0 Responses to “St. Patrick’s Day thought”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pastor Ed Backell

Flickr Photos

teepeeindiangirls1

x-default

rachelthrone

More Photos

Pastoral Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 753 other followers


