Leadership thoughts

I was asked a question about leadership, and I thought I’d share my response:

I think that a person who desires to function as a pastor must above all be authentic. Jesus didn’t put on airs, or pretend that he was something that he was not. His teaching and his example changed the world because of who he was as a person. (This is not to deny His divinity; I’m merely making a point that Jesus was the ultimate example of authenticity.)

Therefore, I feel it is crucial for anyone in leadership to be transparent as to who they are, and as to how God is dealing with them. Honestly, I would love to be like the apostle John, and spend time just being the disciple that Jesus loved, and loving him in return. However, I realize that I am far more like Peter; headstrong, speaking as he thinks, prone to make mistakes. But look at how Jesus treated Peter: once he had helped Peter move beyond his past mistakes (“Do you love Me?”), Jesus placed Peter in a position as a leader.

Not because Peter was always right, or was consistently on-the-ball, but because Peter was dedicated to being as much like Jesus as it was possible for him as Peter. He still made mistakes even after having been placed in leadership, but Peter’s willingness to be used by Christ changed the world. And that’s what I want for my life as well; to change the world, to be a part of the Kingdom of God.

KFJ – Ed

1 Response to “Leadership thoughts”


  1. 1 Margaret (Flournoy)Passmore February 16, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    Ed, I love your description about Leadership. It is so true. I am glad to see that your “walk with Jesus” has lead you in the right direction. We need more people to think the way you do.

    Second note: In high school I never pegged you are becoming a Pastor. God works in glorious ways!


Leave a Reply

Pastor Ed Backell

Flickr Photos

Pastoral Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 775 other followers


