Devotionals Online: 06

The Day of the Lord
Verses to Read: 1 Thes. 5:1-11
There’s a wonderful song that’s a favorite of mine: People Get Ready by Margaret Becker. The concept in the song is that Christ could be coming back at any time, and we’ve got to be ready to go. What do you need to do to get ready to leave on vacation? Now how would that be different if you knew you were going to be leaving for good?
The Thessalonians were getting some pretty mixed up advice about how to prepare for the coming of the Lord. Paul sets them straight, and encourages them to be sober minded as they think about what they need to be doing in their lives.

This is great advice for me as well – to be sober minded as I think about what I need to get done. I have no idea how long I’ll be on the planet – so while I’m here, I want to be like Jesus, and be about “my Father’s business”.

Lord, make me aware of not only what I need to do, but who I’ll be working with, and for WHOM I am working (I’m serving You, not just the ideals that You laid out). Amen.

People, get ready… there’s a train a’comin…

Title of the Devotion:
Verses to Read:
Opening Thought / Illustrative Story – 1 paragraph:
What is the bible author saying to you in this verse? – 1 paragraph:

How can I apply this to my life? – 1 paragraph:

Closing Prayer:

Ending Thought – a short, one line thought to end the Devotional

1 Response to “Devotionals Online: 06”


  1. 1 Austin "Texas" Johnson August 11, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Title of the Devotion:Do what you think is best.
    Verses to Read: John 13:12-17
    12When he had finished washing their feet, he put on his clothes and returned to his place. “Do you understand what I have done for you?” he asked them. 13″You call me ‘Teacher’ and ‘Lord,’ and rightly so, for that is what I am. 14Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. 15I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you. 16I tell you the truth, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. 17Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.

    Opening Thought / Illustrative Story – 1 paragraph:Treat others the way you want to be treated. haven’t people been telling us that since we were in preschool? and yet we still don’t follow that golden rule, we fly planes into tall buildings, we bomb cites, we fight and hurt people just because we can. Can we even stop even if we need to?

    What is the bible author saying to you in this verse? – 1 paragraph: Simple, this author is saying THE GOLDEN RULE: Treat others how you want to be treated.

    How can I apply this to my life? – 1 paragraph:My little brother and I never get alone, Ever. some times it is because of me but I still dont’t like fight with him all the time. i don’t think he believes i can be nice but i only that way because he is that way to me. ive tried many things to get him to like me but nothing worked so i have given up and i am mean to him as much as possible ( which is a lot). but with just about every one esle i can easily get along with them, with a mean joke or action in there some were.

    Closing Prayer:God help me get along with my bro even just a bit would help both of use. help him see the good in me

    Ending Thought – We all need to follow the golden rule but we need to mske the first act and it needs to be a kind act, a good act


Leave a Reply

Pastor Ed Backell

Flickr Photos

Pastoral Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 775 other followers


