Devotionals Online: 02

Making Up for Lost Time

Verses to Read: 1 Thes. 3:6-10

Facebook has become one of the fastest growing social media sights in the history of the Internet. Why? I think it’s because there is something very special about reconnecting with old friends, and being able to catch up on what has been happening in their lives.

I’m convinced that Paul would have definitely added the Thessalonians to his Facebook friend list if he’d had access to that technology. When I read that Paul had been concerned about his friends in Thessolonika, and after getting a good report from Timothy that they were doing well, he said that he “had been comforted about you through your faith.” I’m especially struck by Paul’s earnest desire to meet face to face with his friends, and supply “what is lacking” in their faith.

I have to ask myself: do I earnestly desire to supply what is lacking in the faith of those who are around me? do I concern myself with my friends’ walk with Christ so much that I become agitated when I don’t hear of any encouragement regarding their faith walk? I hope that I do (but not in a creepy, controlling kind of way); I want to be a consistent voice for encouragement amongst my friends, my family, my community of faith – reminding them again and again to get to know and trust Jesus more and more.

Lord God, I realize that YOU are far more concerned about our spiritual journey than I am. Help me to reflect Your priorities in my own life, so that I can rightly encourage others to follow you as well. In the words of Paul, “follow me as I follow Christ”. Give me that kind of boldness, Lord. I ask it in Jesus’ name; Amen.

When people think of me, I want them to think, “He’s like Jesus… but with louder shirts.”

1 Response to “Devotionals Online: 02”


  1. 1 austin(texas) July 9, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    amen for the louder shirts


Leave a Reply

Pastor Ed Backell

Flickr Photos

Pastoral Tweets

  • Check out this photo of Pho Yelm Restaurant on #Yelp yelp.com/biz_photos/pho… 1 day ago
  • How Does God Show Us He Loves Us? God Brings Us Into His Family (Romans 8:14-16) 3 days ago
  • God chooses US, just like He chose Jacob. He calls us His own; we belong to God, and there’s nothing we can do to break God’s promise to us. 3 days ago
  • How Does God Show Us He Loves Us? God’s Plans Change Us (Genesis 28:16-19) 3 days ago
  • How Does God Show Us He Loves Us? God Has Plans For Us (Genesis 28:10-15) 3 days ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 774 other followers


