Devotionals Online: 01

Okay, Outreach Team…

THIS is where you upload your devotionals. Just post them as replies to this blog, and that way, we’ll be able to collect them easier at the end of the year.

Hear me on this: I’m really encouraging you to not just “phone it in”… don’t treat this like a homework assignment from school. That’s not the point at all.

What I’m really wanting for each of us (myself included) is that as we interact with God’s Word, we’ll be shaped to be more like Jesus. When Christ was here, he spent much significant time studying the Scriptures and extended time in prayer with the Father… so that he would be tuned to listen to his Father’s will.

THAT’s what I want for us as well: to spend time in God’s Word, so that we tune our hearts to listen for God speaking to us, too.

Keep Following Jesus… Ed

Title of the Devotion:
Verses to Read:
Opening Thought / Illustrative Story – 1 paragraph:
What is the bible author saying to you in this verse? – 1 paragraph:

How can I apply this to my life? – 1 paragraph:

Closing Prayer:

Ending Thought – a short, one line thought to end the Devotional

4 Responses to “Devotionals Online: 01”


  1. 1 pastoredb June 3, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    Title: On Being Grabbed
    Verses to Read: 1 Corinthians 10:12-13

    Opening Thought: I’ve been working through some verses that deal with temptation, and our responses to it. I’m trying to do some internal work to figure out what is *actually* happening to me when I’m confronted with temptations of various types. We pray in the Lord’s Prayer: “Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil”… but that obviously doesn’t mean we’ll not experience being tempted.

    What is the bible author saying to you in this verse? I think that Paul is pointing out a universal human truth: we ALL are tempted at one time or another (“what is common to humanity”). I focused this morning on the word “overtaken”. It implies that temptation draws me to itself, as if I am owned by it.

    How can I apply this to my life? But that’s the key: I am NOT owned by temptation; I am bought with the blood of Christ! I do not NEED to submit to temptation; I can say right back to it: “I’m dead to you. I’m now alive in Christ, and God owns me. I don’t have to give in or obey your temptings!”

    Closing Prayer: God, thank you for making me your own possession. You own me, and You have the rights to call the shots in my life. Give me ears to hear Your voice. Amen.

    Ending Thought: You gotta serve somebody; it may be the devil, or it may be the Lord, but you gotta serve somebody. (Bob Dylan)

  2. 2 austin(texas) June 12, 2009 at 3:28 am

    Title of the Devotion:spiritual hunger
    Verses to Read:Isaiah 55:1-2
    Opening Thought / Illustrative Story – 1 paragraph:

    Get what will last for awhile and even a life time not what will satisfy you for 10 minutes. Say you are at grocery store, and you are hungry. you see the snack food aisle and before you go any where else you fill up your cart with cookies and candy bars instead of getting something like top roman going home and taking time to cook and eat it, savior it.

    What is the bible author saying to you in this verse? – 1 paragraph:.

    The bible author is saying plan for the long term not the just the now. make all your plans last and fulfill them even if they are doomed for failure.

    How can I apply this to my life? – 1 paragraph:
    I know that if i were hungry and was shopping by my self that i would get food that wasn’t healthy or just provide some kind of energy rush with a big crash afterward. I am working on making my plans more long lasting but having little luck, but i have started so that has to count for something right?

    Closing Prayer:
    Lord, i know for a fact that we need your help to follow you always and that we shouldn’t take the short route that gets what we want as soon as possible. So if you can Lord please help us in any way.

    Ending Thought – a short, one line thought to end the Devotional
    For this i am going to use a song that has change and saved thousands of lives.

    Place in this World

    The wind is moving
    But I am standing still
    A life of pages
    Waiting to be filled
    A heart thats hopeful
    A head thats full of dreams
    But this becoming
    Is harder than it seems
    Feels like im
    Chorus:
    Looking for a reason
    Roaming through the night to find
    My place in this world
    My place in this world
    Not a lot to lean on
    I need your light to help me find
    My place in this world
    My place in this world

    If there are millions
    Down on their knees
    Among the many
    Can you still hear me
    Hear me asking
    Where do I belong
    Is there a vision
    That I can call my own
    Show me im

    Looking for a reason
    Roaming through the night to find
    My place in this world
    My place in this world
    Not a lot to lean on
    I need your light to help me find
    My place in this world
    My place in this world

  3. 3 austin(texas) July 9, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    Title of the Devotion:The way you see things
    Verses to Read:1 SAM. 16:7
    But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.
    Opening Thought / Illustrative Story – 1 paragraph:
    What is the bible author saying to you in this verse? – 1 paragraph:

    How can I apply this to my life? – 1 paragraph:
    I tend to look at the out side of people at first but i still don’t just shut them out till i know them them for sure. There are times how ever that my friends will be upset, or disappointed with me because i give those odd people a chance. Because my friends try to shut them out before they know the person i wounder if i made the right choice in my friends but i still try to loosen them up to the idea of getting to know them as a person. Unfortunately it doesn’t always work.

    Closing Prayer:Lord help all of us to see people’s hearts and to not just look at the out side appearances.

    Ending Thought – a short, one line thought to end the Devotional
    You don’t have to be completely fit for God to love you. Just be you and that is enough for God.

  4. 4 austin(texas) July 9, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    Title of the Devotion:Glorify God

    Verses to Read:1 Corinthians 6:19-20
    19Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20you were bought at a price. Therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s.

    Opening Thought / Illustrative Story – 1 paragraph:
    We all can praise and thank God a little more than we do. God brought us ein this world and I know that with just the snap of a finger he can take or life away. So do good in the one you got.
    What is the bible author saying to you in this verse? – 1 paragraph:God give you every thing you have. if God don’t want you to have it then he’ll make sure you don’t

    How can I apply this to my life? – 1 paragraph:
    We all take this life and body God gave us for granted, some more than others. Drug addicts waste this life given by God. fortunately there are some people who manage to hear God calling them and change there ways. This is not my personal story but my Youth director’s.
    Closing Prayer:
    My Dear Lord i thank you for this wonderful life that you have given me and i will do my best to praise you with your body and spirit which you have so kindly given me>
    Ending Thought – a short, one line thought to end the Devotional
    My parents have always said that i don’t own anything and that they just let me borrow things.


Leave a Reply

Pastor Ed Backell

Flickr Photos

teepeeindiangirls1

x-default

rachelthrone

More Photos

Pastoral Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 753 other followers


