Not what I expected (from archive)

(DATE: December 14, 2007)

You know how Thomas Jefferson often gets a bad rap from the Evangelical Right for being a Deist… (someone who believes that God just created everything, and then stopped interacting with His creation)? In fact, where TJ *really* gets into trouble is when Fundamentalists (note the capital F) find out that he produced an edited version of the Gospels which was just made of the moral teachings of Jesus, without the miracles.

HERESY!

(right?)

So imagine my surprise when I came across this quote from President Jefferson:

“My views… are the result of a life of inquiry and reflection, and very different from the anti-christian system imputed to me by those who know nothing of my opinions. To the corruptions of Christianity I am, indeed, opposed; but not to the genuine precepts of Jesus himself. I am a Christian in the only sense in which he wished any one to be; sincerely attached to his doctrines in preference to all others.”

I LOVE this thought! I was overcome with emotion when I read it… I think I would probably disagree with TJ about what the “corruptions of Christianity” actually were, but boy, the sentiment is right where I want to be:

“sincerely attached to His doctrines in preference to all others.”

Wow. Merry Christ-mas, everyone.

0 Responses to “Not what I expected (from archive)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pastor Ed Backell

Flickr Photos

teepeeindiangirls1

x-default

rachelthrone

More Photos

Pastoral Tweets

  • 1 Pet. 3:20-21~ Remember Reasons To Hope: 7) God Prepares Ways To Rescue His People; 8) God Rescues From Being Overwhelmed 3 days ago
  • 1 Pet. 3:22~ Remember Reason To Hope: 9) Jesus In The Perfect Position To Save: AT THE TOP; over Angels, Authorities, Powers, AND Problems! 3 days ago
  • 1 Pet. 3:17-19~ Remember Reasons To Hope: 4) God Values Your Life; 5) Jesus Already Paid For Your Sin; 6) Stuck? Jesus Can Free You 3 days ago
  • 1 Pet. 3:13-16~ Remember Reasons To Hope: 1) You Are Not Alone When You Suffer; 2) Your Hope Is Reasonable; 3) Your Hope Doesn’t Need Power 3 days ago
  • Posts from 1 Peter: Reasons for Hope pastoredb.wordpress.com/2017/05/21/pos… 3 days ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 753 other followers


