My Personal Geek Metaphor (from archive)

(DATE: March 26, 2008 )

This is for a class I’m taking right now; the assignment was to write a metaphor which describes my personal formation. I read it to Jami, and she insisted that I post it in my blog, so here you go:

I’m a computer. I’m a complex collection of processing ability, memory, storage, and operating system. The processor I’ve been given is a fairly decent one – it works, and it’s able to handle large amounts of data throughput. However, when it overheats, it works at a much reduced rate of efficiency; it garbles the data, and doesn’t always correctly route the data to its needed recipients. I do have some significant issues:

My memory is faulty. Memory is designed to allow the operating system to function at its best; when sufficient memory is present, programs are able to access the processor at full speed and carry out their instructions. However, there are large gaps in my memory, which probably stem from some trauma early in my operating cycle (sometimes called “childhood”). These memory gaps occur at the most inopportune times, and confound my efforts to process information; sometimes, I simply don’t have sufficient interpretive memory to understand current demands on my processing ability. This would be analogous to an “emotional” state: sometimes I am unable to access needed data to help me carry out programming instructions, specifically input/output issues (“relating to others”).

My storage capacity is low; my physical capacity to store data seems to be decreasing (“my body is running down”), and while programs have been initiated to slow this trend (“I’ve started an exercise regime”), they are but temporary fixes for a permanent problem: my hardware will eventually cease to function. I understand that entropy must occur, but it is still difficult to face one’s own obsolescence.

However, the bright point is my operating system; I’ve had it replaced, and the new system works so much more efficiently than the old one. My old OS was riddled with viruses, malware, and junk programming (“sin”). The new system I’m currently running (“grace”) is virtually virus proof, and malware is much harder to install. The programs available to run with this new OS are all Free and Open; the Author lets me have access to the source code (“Scripture”) for any program I have installed. Also, I have the ability to give away my OS to anyone who is interested in replacing their old software; in fact, I am encouraged to do so, to all who seek freedom from their old operating system.

0 Responses to “My Personal Geek Metaphor (from archive)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pastor Ed Backell

Flickr Photos

teepeeindiangirls1

x-default

rachelthrone

More Photos

Pastoral Tweets

  • 1 Pet. 3:20-21~ Remember Reasons To Hope: 7) God Prepares Ways To Rescue His People; 8) God Rescues From Being Overwhelmed 1 day ago
  • 1 Pet. 3:22~ Remember Reason To Hope: 9) Jesus In The Perfect Position To Save: AT THE TOP; over Angels, Authorities, Powers, AND Problems! 1 day ago
  • 1 Pet. 3:17-19~ Remember Reasons To Hope: 4) God Values Your Life; 5) Jesus Already Paid For Your Sin; 6) Stuck? Jesus Can Free You 1 day ago
  • 1 Pet. 3:13-16~ Remember Reasons To Hope: 1) You Are Not Alone When You Suffer; 2) Your Hope Is Reasonable; 3) Your Hope Doesn’t Need Power 1 day ago
  • Posts from 1 Peter: Reasons for Hope pastoredb.wordpress.com/2017/05/21/pos… 1 day ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 753 other followers


